Hellboy Library Edition Volume 4

Script Mike Mignola, art by Mike Mignola, Richard Corben, Joshua Dysart, Jason Shawn Alexander and P. Craig Russell. All illustrations are ©Mike Mignola. For a complete list of all books reviewed in this blog, please visit the index page.

This article deals with Dark Horse Hellboy material published in oversized hardcover canvas books ( 12 x 9 inches or 31 x 23 cm) on thick glossy paper, with a bookmark ribbon (see also the end of this article).

Volume 4 came in June 2011 (ISBN: 978-1-59582-658-9, cover price 49.99$, 312 pages). As well as the original comics and their virgin respective covers, the books come also with sketches, alternative drawings, comments by the author(s), unpublished bits and pieces among many other cool stuffs. All the books from the Library Edition collection, apart The Art of Hellboy, share the same second and third of cover (same illustration on both).

The book collects the stories listed below, some originating from "The Dark Horse Book of Hauntings/Witchcraft/the Dead/Monsters" series or "Hellboy Premiere Edition".

In addition to Scott Allie's introduction and Mike Mignola afterwords , one's can find an introduction for "The Crooked Man" written by Gahan Wilson.

The bonus section displays 4 pages of story notes, a 39 pages commented sketchbook with Mike Mignola's art, and 8 pages with Richard Corben sketches.

Richard Corben sketches

Dark Horse Hellboy Library Edition as of October 2017:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Write your comment here